Winners International Prize for Sacred Architecture 2024

Home / Blog / Winners International Prize for Sacred Architecture 2024

The Frate Sole Foundation is proud to announce the winners of the International Prize for Sacred Architecture 2024, an award that celebrates excellence in contemporary Christian sacred architecture at a global level.

This year, the award was openly nominated by 128 projects from all over the world with professional firms belonging to 28 different nationalitiesdemonstrating the relevance and importance of sacred architecture in today's cultural context.

All projects can be viewed at this link:

The First Prize, l'Academy Awards for Sacred Architecture 2024was awarded to:

Fernando Martín Menis for the iglesia Santísimo Redentor in Las Chumberasin the municipality of San Cristóbal de La Laguna (Tenerife, Spain).

Photo credits - Simona-Rota

The Second Prize ex aequo was awarded to:

Mario Cucinella for the church of the Santa Maria Goretti parish complex in Mormanno (CS), Italy.

Photo credits - Duccio Malagamba

ARQBR Arquitetura and Urbanism for the igreja of the Paróquia da Sagrada Família in Brasilia (Brazil).

Photo credits - Joana França

The Third Prize was awarded to:

Alejandro Beautell for the iglesia de Nuestra Señora de Candelaria in Alcalá (Tenerife, Spain).

Photo credits - Flavio Dorta

The jury also identified the following projects worthy of mention:

Alsar Atelier for the temporary installation for the 'Alhmbras Cross' pandemic in Bogotá, Colombia.

Cerejeira Fontes Architect for the Imaculada and Cheia de Graça Chapel, in the Minor Seminary of Braga (Portugal).

Paula Santos | arquitectura for the Presbytery-do-recinto-de-oracão in Fatima (Portugal).

The initial prize pool of €30,000 is divided as follows:

- First Prize: 15,000 €

- Second Prize ex aequo: € 5,000 each

- Third Prize: 5,000 €

The winners of the International Prize for Sacred Architecture 2024 will be honoured during the ceremony to be held next Saturday 5 October in Pavia.